Tomato and Black Bean Salsa

…and it’s Fight Back Friday!

It’s HOT here. Like 94 F hot. I know – we don’t really understand hot here on the West Coast with our onshore flow and lack of humidity. And honestly – I don’t mind the hot. It just requires some adjustments to daily living… especially when you live in an OLD house with no air conditioning!

One of those adjustments – for our family at least – is cooking and eating outdoors.

Oh we love the grill!

Oh we love al fresco!

So – in honor of the season, and a lovely gift from the folks at Daregal – I decided to throw together a little salsa to enjoy with in the warm weather.

Tomato and Black Bean Salsa

I should tell you up front – this couldn’t be any easier to put together. It will take you all of about 15 minutes – tops – and will be worth every last darn second of the investment of your time!

Remember these?

The REAL canned beans I canned not so long ago? They’re fabulous and amazing – just had to tell you.

That’s what I started with….

…one can of black beans. These are kind of thick and gooey – and so yummy. That’s good. If they were commercially canned they’d have a lot more fluid on them – and in that instance, I’d definitely get rid of the majority of that fluid.

Next, I added 1 and 1/2 cups of frozen corn.

You could use canned or fresh. Fresh would be mind-blowingly amazing, of course – and if I had any, well, you know what would be here instead! As it is, the frozen works just fine.

Next, 4 medium tomatoes, diced:

A bunch of green onions, sliced fairly thinly…

This was about 7 green onions, with the majority of the green included.

Next, two large avocados seeded and peeled, then diced. I always sprinkle salt on top of my avocados – my Mom must have taught me that decades ago when I was a little girl living on Lamer Street, finding ripe avocados that had fallen off of the tree in the back yard and munching on them…

Anyway – about half a teaspoon of the Kosher salt sprinkled here.

Now – this is so cool – Daregal sells fresh frozen chopped herbs. I’ve used 4 Tablespoons of the fresh frozen chopped Cilantro.

OH MY WORD!

I *hate* chopping fresh Cilantro. All of the stems and time and trying to figure out measurements! UGH!

This stuff is awesome!

This was SO easy!

Then I add the remaining 1 teaspoon of Kosher salt, add 1/4 cup of lemon juice, and mix together!

It looks yummy, doesn’t it?

Well looks are deceiving.

It’s life-alteringly fabulous.

You’ll have to excuse me now… I need to go eat a large quantity of this stuff!

Enjoy!

Tomato and Black Bean Salsa

Ingredients

1 can

Black Beans (approximately 15 oz)

1 1/2 cups

Corn (Canned, Fresh, or Frozen)

4 medium

Tomatoes, diced

1 bunch

Green onions, sliced

2 large

Avocados, diced

4 Tablespoons

Daregal Fresh Frozen Chopped Cilantro

1 1/2 teaspoons

Kosher salt

1/4 cup

Lemon juice

 

  1. If black beans and/or corn are canned with a lot of fluid, drain most of the fluid off before placing in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add tomatoes and sliced green onions.
  3. Dice avocados and then sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt. Transfer to mixing bowl.
  4. Sprinkle Daregal Fresh Frozen Chopped Cilantro and remaining teaspoon of Kosher salt over ingredients in mixing bowl.
  5. Add lemon juice and mix thoroughly.

Notes:

Cover and refrigerate for about an hour prior to serving.

Serve with tortilla or pita chips.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment