Ginger Cookies

…and it’s Fight Back Friday! Woo Hoo!!!

I have been away – in the hospital, actually – for three weeks most recently. This poor blog has languished in my absence. Interestingly enough – I find myself in a very different place in life. Because of my illness and continuing therapy at home, I am not allowed to eat or drink for six weeks. All of my fluids and nutrition are being delivered via an IV here at home.

If you know me at all, then you know I love food! I’m just 7 days into the 42 days of NPO, and while I’m not hungry – I sure miss eating. I’m finding myself dreaming about food. And making lists of foods that I will eat and in what order I will eat them. I think it’s so interesting how many of my “cravings” or desires regarding foods are things that are rich and savory and full of robust flavor. (Maybe because when I was allowed to eat last it was mostly just soup broth?!) With fall just having been ushered in, I can’t help but think of those amazing smells, flavors, and memories!

As you may recall from an earlier entry on Fight Back Fridays, I once had an eventful trip that landed me in a little community outside of Hillsville, Virginia where I stumbled upon a wonderful little hand printed and copied cookbook entitled “Old Timey Recipes” which was compiled by Phyllis Connor and bears a 1969 copyright.

One of the recipes in this little booklet has been on my mind ever since the thoughts of carrot cake, and toffee cookies, and fall have been flitting around my brain! It’s got an interesting notation on it “From an 1890 cookbook” and is very simple and basic. Not a plethora of instructions, that’s to be sure. Here’s what it says:

Ginger Cookies

Ingredients

1 large

Egg

1 cup

Granulated sugar

1 cup

Molasses

1 Tablespoon

Baking soda

1 Tablespoon

Vinegar

1 Tablespoon

Ginger

2 or more cups

All-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon

Baking powder

Preheat oven to 350° F.

This is the note on how to put them together:

One egg, one cup sugar, one cup molasses, one tablespoon soda, one tablespoon of vinegar, one tablespoon of ginger, 2 or more cups of flour, enough to stiffen. Mix and roll thin. Cut small cookies and bake in a hot oven.

That’s it. That’s all they wrote.

So, when I’ve made them, I’ve done just as they said – adding the ingredients in the order specified.

I have wondered about a couple of things – which seemed obvious to the readers of that day, of course! – like…. Any particular kind of molasses? When they say soda, they mean baking soda, right? Cause that’s what I’ve used. Vinegar? Which kind? I’m assuming run of the mill white vinegar – although I’ve wondered about apple cider vinegar as well. And ginger… dried ground? Grated and fresh? Candied? (If you haven’t found them yet – check out Ginger People!)

What I’ve ended up doing is using what I have on hand, and you know what? They’re pretty good. They’re different, but good.

I just kinda love them because they are “old timey” and sound very much like a ginger cookie that my Grammy adored as a child. She also loved Gingerbread, and I have a recipe for that from her Mother that I’ll dig out soon to post here – it’s amazing.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment