Be a Friend to Bees

Apis mellifera (European honeybee)

Image via Wikipedia

This from the friendly folks at GloryBee Foods.

If you’ve never checked out their web site – please, do. They’re great folks. We’ve had great results every time we’ve ordered anything from them.

Be a Friend to Bees by Cultivating These Plants

As winter ends and warmer weather begins, bees will emerge from their hives and begin to forage again. You can help add to their options by including these nectar and pollen-producing plants in your garden or back yard—bees love them! Also remember that pesticides and herbicides in the garden can be harmful to bees! Herbicides contaminate bee’s water sources and pesticides can be fatal. So if you must spray, please take care to spray well away from the bee’s food and water sources.

  • Oregon Grape
  • Bee Balm
  • Fireweed
  • Raspberries
  • Blackberries
  • White Clover
  • Lavender
  • Sage
  • Mint
  • Deciduous Fruit Trees
  • Cabbage
  • Dill
  • Dandelions

Each year we make a point to companion plant pollinator-friendly items throughout the entire garden. It really does make a difference.

I’ve read up quite a lot on sage over the past year – I’ve stockpiled quite a little collection of seed, and I’m hoping that it will not only attract pollinators – but also discourage the deer from coming through and decimating my garden!

Here’s hoping!

2 thoughts on “Be a Friend to Bees

  1. In our neck of the Texas woods bees love the purple bloom on Rosemary. After moving to our condo I’m left with just a medium pot of same but see the bees flocking to it as soon as it blooms.

  2. I do a lot of companion planting in my garden. both to attract the beneficial insects and to confuse the bad ones! my lavender attracts loads of bees and I’ve been very careful to teach my girls not to ever kill bees. this year I bought a mason bee house. I can’t wait to see what happens with that! It really worries me that so many bees are dying off to disease. oh and don’t forget sunflowers. I grow loads of them since I absolutely adore them. how can you not smile with those big sunny yellow faces? I get all my seed from Territorial Seed company in Cottage Grove. Then I know the seeds will grow in Oregon! Happy Gardening!

Leave a Reply

