Have you ever noticed?

John and I have committed to once every other month making a large batch of soup for a ministry that serves the homeless in downtown Portland.

It’s not much.

The need is so great.

But, it’s something that we can do – and do joyfully.

Honestly – it’s kind of fun – I get to experiment with all kinds of fun soups that the boys would NEVER in a million years eat – and are all sorts of fabulous – and someone will actually enjoy and appreciate them. I love that.

Today it’s white chili.

I’ve never made it before. What with being allergic to chicken and the boys being opposed to any form of bean – yeah, not high on the menu planning priority list. It smells great, and was – frankly – really easy to throw together. Now it will just simmer while we wait for the very nice lady from church to come pick it up and deliver it to where it needs to go.

John and I have mentioned to one another countless times how ironic it is that whenever it is our turn to make soup for this ministry some event or the other – or just the fact that I’ve worked less than 40 hours since the last of September – these are the times when we find ourselves in our most dire financial need.

Isn’t it funny how that happens?

And it’s not like it’s once or twice it’s happened.

It happens every single time we’re scheduled to make soup.

Yes, the rent is paid. Some of the bills will have to wait. There’s not much gas in the cars. No, there’s no money for groceries.

We’re not likely to starve to death any time soon – ha! If things got really scary, the boys may well break down and actually want to eat beans! I’ve been canning – and beans we have!

It used to really stress us out – “Ugh! Time to make soup! What are we going to do?” And we’d go through the pantry looking for things that could be pulled together to make a nutritious and delicious soup.

Nowadays – we just kind of smile and look at each other and say, “Time to make soup.” It’s almost a challenge to see who can spot what God has or will provide (just in the nick of time, of course) to make that big old pot of soup possible.

Have you noticed that in your own life?

That God asks you to trust – even when it doesn’t seem like the practical thing to do?

There are things we could do.

We could back out – not follow through with the commitment. But then we’d miss out on getting to see the amazing things that we get to see God do each time.

We could freak out. Been there, done that – doesn’t accomplish much.

Lots of options of responses.

But there’s one thing we choose to do…

Only You
by David Crowder Band

Take my heart, I Lay it down
At the feet of you whose crowned
Take my life, I’m letting go
I lift it up to You who’s throned

And I will worship You, Lord
Only You, Lord
And I will bow down before You
Only You Lord

Take my fret, take my fear
All I have, I’m leaving here
Be all my hopes, be all my dreams
Be all my delights, be my everything

And It’s just you and me here now
Only you and me here now

You should see the view
When it’s only You
© 2003 Six Step Records

Ever notice how much better it is when you choose to stop – acknowledge that God is HERE – right now… No matter what the circumstances are? In the midst of it all – whatever it all is. No matter how afraid you could or should be? No matter how great the need or perceived need?

…that He does what only He can do…

He shows up.

Without fail.

To envelop with His incredible peace.

His unmatched love.

His beautiful mercy.

His matchless grace.

Ready to do just what needs done.

Ever notice what a delight it is to just step out and obey?

…feeling pretty honored to be a child of the King this afternoon.

5 thoughts on “Have you ever noticed?

  1. I know how you feel. Mitch and I are finally getting back on our feet. 8 years after our fall. We have an inspection on our home that we are purchasing tomorrow. I am full of doubts. All the what ifs, the doubting Becca stuff. I hate that about me. I really do wish that I could just let go and know that everything will work out as it should. I know that it makes us human, but sometimes, honestly, I over think and it stinks. I need to learn how to let go and go and do what we need to do.

  2. Thank you for echoing my sentiments so well lately – it seems like the grace of His goodness is always there in the moment when you think you can no longer hold on … when you listen He will calm your fears and answer prayers you barely give voice to. Your soup sounds perfect! Bless you.

  3. I like that, Dina. It’s so true! I am getting close to learning not to freak out and just stop and trust. It’s hard. We are in a place where we are doing things we feel God leading us to, but we have little confirmation. It looks crazy on paper, but we are just going with our hearts. It’s great practice!

    We ARE going to have challenges ALWAYS, but He IS going to give us what we need to get through them…better yet…He will give us something valuable to come away with. I’ve been on the challenge end AND on the benefit end, as I know you have, too.

    Thanks for sharing. I enjoy reading your blog.

  4. What you are saying is SO true and what I have finally come to realize is that there are some gifts God can’t give if we are always in a condition of plenty. That and His answers are not like ours, just give us the means to more money LORD and I can handle the rest! Not His way, althought we have a family story I will share sometime as it relates to the Halladay’s that does involve unexpected money.
    Bless you for providing for those who cannot provide for themselves and for your powerful expression of faith.

  5. Yes! I used to fret and worry when the month was longer than the amount of money in the bank. But time after time God took care of us and it worked out. We’ve never gone hungry, never lost our home, always had heat and clothing. So now if it happens, I take a deep breath and remember God is in control, and I’m not, and it’s going to be ok somehow.
    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

