What’s Your Plan? Week 10

It’s that time again – time to share what we’ve got planned for our menu for the coming week…

Here’s the plan: Every Saturday (okay, and occasionally it won’t happen until Sunday!), I’m going to publish our menu for the week here – on this blog – as a means of accountability. I’ll try to give links to recipes whenever possible. I’ll share links to resources as I come across them. And if you want to join in – and please do! – leave a comment in the comments section here telling us what YOU are planning for your dinner menus for the week. Maybe if we all join in – we’ll get inspired to try something new and different – or just maybe forgotten for a while!

I’ve been a bad blogger. Not such a bad menu planner, just a bad blogger. I had my menu all planned for last week – even pretty much followed the plan. I just got busy (ended up working more than I had been), and well – the menu never got posted. Sorry!

John and I sat down tonight and got this week planned out. So, for the week beginning today, Monday, October 11th through Sunday, October 17th, 2010 our plan is….

Monday – Chicken Fetuccini. Made a new alfredo sauce today – pretty much the same as we normally make, only this time I added a tempered egg yolk to it. Amazing what a difference that made! Smooth, velvety, fabulous! Will decidedly do it this way from now on!

TuesdaySpaghetti with Meatballs. Pretty similar to the line linked at Williams-Sonoma. This is new for us, so we’ll see how it goes over! (Keeping in mind that William doesn’t believe in consuming any tomato products!)

WednesdayShrimp Fried Rice. I gotta tell you – we tried this a few weeks ago for the first time and – hands down – an all out fave. I see this one getting repeated often! It’s quick, tastes fabulous, and is literally about 30 minutes from start to serving. Well – you do need to have rice cooked and cooked ahead of time, but hey – I don’t mind doing that!

Thursday – Baked Fish. We’re going grocery shopping tomorrow night, so not really sure which type or how – but this is an all time fave at our house – there’s pretty much no BAD way to fix fish when John McBride is the guy cooking. Seriously – he’s got a gift! Sometimes it’s seasoned and floured and baked, sometimes fried, sometimes it’s not coated – just steamed in garlic butter and dill. Amazing stuff!

Friday – Steak & Salad Night! Steak for John and Jonathan (William will be away at Middle School Retreat), salad for me. If it’s dry, we may even heat up the grill!

SaturdayTuna Noodle Casserole. Seriously. We’re guessing Jonathan will be busy at dinner time, and William is out of town at retreat. And well, John and I really like this – we can just never get our kids to eat it. So we’re gonna! (BTW, we don’t do ANY canned condensed soups. Yeah – not okay. We just mix up a roux quickly and go from there.)

Sunday – Taco Bell after church and picking William up from Retreat.

So – that’s our plan.

What’s Your Plan?

I’d love to know!

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Plan? Week 10

  1. I would love to get away from canned cream of soups, but so many of my recipes call for it. Any suggestions? I am a cooking rookie in some ways, so … what is roux? 🙂
    My plan this week was written on my church bulletin on the way home! Sun – pizza; Mon – soup day; Tues – white chili; Wed – pasta, already cooked and frozen, so just put it in the oven; Thurs – potatoes and meat; Fri – out, due to several activities going on. Feels good to have a plan!!

    • Hey Jules. Roux is pretty much flour and fat, when fluid is added turns into the basis for all sorts of great sauces and gravies. See http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/culinaryfundamentals/ss/roux.htm Pretty much, if you had 1/2 a cup of butter (melted) in your saucepan over medium heat, add equal amount of flour. I use a whisk to combine and make it smooth. Then add about 4 cups of liquid… if it’s for beef gravy, I use beef stock; if it’s for a corn chowder or the like – whole milk or heavy cream. Once you get the roux built, you can melt in cheese, or add all sorts of ingredients. If it’s a replacement for cream of mushroom soup, throw in mushrooms. Make sense?

      Honestly – I’ll never open up another can of condensed soup again! Warped for life! But in a really good way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

