I have a problem…

…I seem to be utterly incapable of making a small pot of soup.

Maybe it’s because it’s so cold, and wet, and dark, and dreary.

Something about a bowl of soup with the last hurrah of summer in it seems to help me make the transition to fall with a bit more grace.

Yeah.

It’s the base to my juicer/steamer.

Seriously – herking huge.

A bigger problem?

I’m probably the only one in the house who will eat this soup.

It’s chock full of veggies.

It’s vegetarian.

Yeah. The boys won’t touch it with a 10-foot pole.

Goofs.

I’m thinking there’s going to be a LOT of soup in my future this week!

Lunch, anyone?

4 thoughts on “I have a problem…

  1. What is in your soup? I am on liquids and very soft foods since somehow I managed to tear muscles in my upper abdomen. And everything that I eat is bothering my stomach.

    Thanks,
    Becca

    • Oh Becca! I’m so sorry!

      Well, let’s see… it’s got onions, celery, mushrooms, garlic, carrots, cabbage, squash, garbanzo beans, macaroni, tomatoes, and chicken stock. 🙂

  2. Do you just put everything in and let is simmer? We get a bag every week from our CSA at Sungold Farms. I think that would be good for me.

    • Here’s the basic archetecture for a great pot of soup:

      1. Throw a couple tablespoons of butter in a soup pot. Add a diced onion, put the eye of the stove on medium, and allow it to begin to soften the onion while you prep the other ingredients.

      2. Add diced celery next. Then mushrooms if you’re going to add them. Add a little more butter if you need it. You’ll want to mix the ingredients every few minutes to keep them from browning too much.

      3. Add minced garlic, stirring so it doesn’t scortch. Burnt garlic is YUCKY. This is when I add squash and cabbage if I’m going to add them, too.

      4. Add diced carrots. If you’re going to use potatoes, I would add them at this point, too.

      5. Now add diced tomatoes – canned and/or fresh. This will allow you to deglaze the pan – loosening up any of the browned bits on the base of the pan.

      6. Add any other veggies you want. Add your favorite stock (vegetable, chicken, beef, ham, turkey – whatever! :))

      7. Add any beans and/or pasta at this point.

      8. Let everything simmer. Taste occasionally to see if you need to add any seasonings – i.e., salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, beau monde – whatever floats your boat.

      See? Easy!

Leave a Reply

