What’s Your Plan? Week 7

It’s that time again – time to share what we’ve got planned for our menu for the coming week…

Here’s the plan: Every Saturday (okay, and occasionally it won’t happen until Sunday!), I’m going to publish our menu for the week here – on this blog – as a means of accountability. I’ll try to give links to recipes whenever possible. I’ll share links to resources as I come across them. And if you want to join in – and please do! – leave a comment in the comments section here telling us what YOU are planning for your dinner menus for the week. Maybe if we all join in – we’ll get inspired to try something new and different – or just maybe forgotten for a while!

I’m feeling a little – well – frazzled.

I’ve done it again.

Jumped feet first into a HUGE project. It’s something I’m passionate about. It’s something I feel God is calling me to do. And I honestly could devote my time 24/7 to seeing it to completion and not have enough time. It’s gonna take a miracle – and I’m really feeling it right now!

So my menu planning for the week reflects the necessities of trying to use my time wisely!

For the week beginning today, Monday, September 20 through Sunday, September 26, 2010 our plan is….

Monday – Pizza Night. We’ve got a great coupon for pizza – and the boys love pizza – so, pizza night it is!

Tuesday – Beef Stew with Homemade Dinner Rolls. I’ve got to get this recipe written down and posted. I do! Honestly, I’m gonna. But maybe not this week… so much to do… so little time!

Wednesday – Chicken Stir-Fry. The boys adore yakisoba noodles, so these are always served with this meal. Lately, we’re pretty much just buying a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies and seasoning with the various sauces we have on hand. It’s such an easy meal – and comes together quickly.

ThursdayChili con Carne. Detecting a theme here? Quick and easy meals? You seeing that yet? It’s high on the list of priorities in my life right now! LOL!

Friday – Shepherd’s Pie. This is another recipe that I’m supposed to write down and post. Yeah – not happening this week!

Saturday – Burgers on the Grill. The forecast says sunny and upper 70’s. We’d better grill while we can!

Sunday – Roasted Chicken. To be honest, this is not on the boys’ list of favorites. They tolerate it. But the inside scoop is that I really need to make chicken stock, so roasted chicken is on the menu!

My big insider tip for this week is that it always pays to subscribe to your favorite grocery store or restaurant’s email notifications. More and more of them have blogs, too – oftentimes giving you a discount or buy one get one offer for subscribing.

When I subscribe to things like this I make sure to set up a rule in Outlook to direct said email notifications to the appropriate folder – i.e., I have a Restaurant folder and a Shopping folder and a folder for the RSS feed updates for New Season’s, etc. This way I get heads’ up warning if a fabulous sale is heading my way.

How about you?

And of course…

What’s Your Plan?

I’d love to know!

4 thoughts on “What’s Your Plan? Week 7

  1. Monday – Crock pot bracciole with penne & broccoli
    Tuesday – Hamburger pie with green beans and corn
    Wednesday – Pizza rolls with chicken and pesto, side salad
    Thursday – Chicken with sauteed artichoke hearts and mushrooms over brown rice, side salad
    Friday – Saturday – Sunday, not sure I am out of the country until 10/4, so my hubby and mother-in-law are on their own!

Leave a Reply

