What’s Your Plan? Week 6

It’s that time again – time to share what we’ve got planned for our menu for the coming week…

Here’s the plan: Every Saturday (okay, and occasionally it won’t happen until Sunday!), I’m going to publish our menu for the week here – on this blog – as a means of accountability. I’ll try to give links to recipes whenever possible. I’ll share links to resources as I come across them. And if you want to join in – and please do! – leave a comment in the comments section here telling us what YOU are planning for your dinner menus for the week. Maybe if we all join in – we’ll get inspired to try something new and different – or just maybe forgotten for a while!

Okay – so it was a way better week than the one previous. BUT – still complex. Lots of doctor’s appointments. Lots of dealing with kids in pain. Lots of having to adjust life to accommodate special needs. And I worked Tuesday through Saturday – and well – I’m bushed.

I don’t know that this week will be any easier. There are still lots of doctor’s appointments. There are still lots of things to juggle. But – from the looks of things at the moment – I likely won’t have hours to work this week. While we’ll miss the income – frankly – I need the breather! Technically – I’m still recovering from all of the nuttiness of earlier this year.

So… here we go. Late again. Sorry.

For the week beginning today, Monday, September 13 through Sunday, Month 19, 2010 our plan is….

Monday – French Dip Sandwiches with Au Jus. The guys love this meal. It’s a total breeze to throw together, and makes for an easy evening both prep and clean-up wise.

Tuesday – Fresh True Cod with Shells and White Cheddar. Yep. Again. Yep, we liked it that much. Plus, the cod is on sale at New Seasons through Tuesday. Hard to pass up!

Wednesday – Tacos! The boys’ favorite. And probably the first time Jonathan will be able to eat something this “crunchy” since his “incident.” Here’s hoping it goes well.

ThursdaySkillet Lasagna. It got bumped last week – one doctor’s appointment too many! So – this is take two on this one.

Friday, Saturday, Sunday – John and I will be away Friday evening through Sunday afternoon. This happens very infrequently, and well – we’re ready! The boys will likely get as much pizza, nachos, and quesadillas in as is conceivable. ::shudder:: They’re thankful that when we’re away they get razzed much less about eating vegetables!

My big insider tip for this week is it’s okay to repeat a meal if you like it that well. Kinda like how John and I are pretty much gonna be eating squash every night as long as the squash holds out. Just like the True Cod that’s on sale at New Season’s. When it’s that good – and fresh and wonderful – well, there’s no rule written in stone that you can’t do a repeat.

How about you? Got any insider tips? Or a meal that you like enough to eat weekly?

And of course…

What’s Your Plan?

I’d love to know!

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Plan? Week 6

  1. This recipe is one of my favorites (see link above) – it’s easy to throw together. You can add literally any vegetables you have in the house into it, and as much or as little spice as you like. I’ve added Chili, 16 bean soup mix, a random bag of frozen vegetables and even manwich. As long you include the cream corn & the white corn meal, the rest of it takes care of itself. I love the spicy pork sausage, and lots and lots of peppers. This is always a hit at my job when I bring it in. (I even get requests for it)

    –BT

  2. Here is a build on your repeat great meals idea – I work a very stressful job and often get home later then planned. Because of the hectic lifestyle we take a bit of stress out of life with a few days a week that are “standard” meals. I have a very not picky husband – so it is IDEAL for us. I know it sounds weird but it is so easy thus we have “Turkey Taco Tuesday” and “Grilled Cheese Monday” (Soup varies!) every week – it is so sad but if it is Monday and I say to my husband “what” do you want for dinner tonight – he will look wide eyed and panic stricken – “isn’t it grilled cheese Monday?” Sounds strange – but if there are 2 or 3 big hit meals that are easy – WHY NOT???

Leave a Reply

