Do you ever just wonder?

One day last week I was in the file cabinet – putting a couple of things away, when I came across some old photos. I love old photos.

 Here’s some of what I found – and I’ll share what I know this one and the others in future, and hope that some of the family who read here can fill in some of the gaps!

 

This is Louise Alcock. She was born May 9, 1894 in Marietta, Ohio. She was – I believe – the youngest of George Alcock and Easter Smith’s 11 children. (I really need to do some more research and find out if all 11 are truly George and Easter’s children!)  George was the son of Thomas Alcock and Ann Racer. Thomas, interestingly enough, served in the 148th Ohio Infantry during the Civil War. We have his enlistment and discharge papers, as well as a Certificate of Thanks with the signature of Abraham Lincoln and Edwin Stanton on it. Thomas must have been a pretty faithful correspondent – we have a number of his letters, ledgers relating to the farm, etc. He seemed to be a pretty interesting guy. (Thomas’s father – Thomas, was an emmigrant from Cheshire, England – we have his land grant dated 1789 – pretty cool stuff!)

I don’t know much about Louise, sadly.

I know that she married Dwight McBride September 10, 1913 – seven years after the picture above was taken.

And I know that she was mother to two boys – Harold and Charles McBride. Harold was my husband’s Father.

That’s Harold on the left, and Charles on the right.

What’s really interesting about this photo of Louise is that it’s actually a post card. Here’s what the other side said:

It was addressed to Louise’s Aunt Aura Smith Dotson.

Things that make me wonder…

Was it normal to just send a family photo in the mail as a post card?   I mean – there’s no message!  Just an address!

I also want to know about the rabbits!

I want rabbits!

 I think I count 16 or 17 rabbits in the picture.

 How did they keep them in there? Wouldn’t they just burrow out? Did they raise them for meat? (That’s what I want to do.)

 And what about that post-mark. Do you see the Akron mark? It says September 23, 1906 – and it has the time on it! 5:30 pm! Did they always mark the time on the post mark?

 I think it’s interesting, as well, that the Reno, OH post-mark is for the day prior. This little post card covered some ground in pretty quick order!

Interestingly enough – being the nosy person I am – I Googled the address on the card and think I may have found the house that Aunt Aura and family lived in! It certainly is of an appropriate architectural age, if it’s the house.

There’s so much I’d like to know about the generation preceding Louise – I know next to nothing about her siblings. I need to invest some time doing some research on this part of the family!

Gotta love those stashes of old family photos!

5 thoughts on “Do you ever just wonder?

  1. Please post the pictures you referred to in your post. We are sure happy to hear that you are able to be up and around again. You have been on a challenging adventure.

    • Hey Jim – thanks for the heads’ up – I have no idea why those pictures didn’t load the first time. Weird! Anyway – thanks – I’m so glad to be getting better, and trying to be patient until I’m “all well” – that, I’m afraid is the hard part, the patient part! 🙂

  2. Hi, Dina.

    I came here by way of Googling the verse Exodus 33:17, only to find someone who, like me is interested in old photos and geneology. (I spent this morning tracking down my great-grandparents’ home addresses online from their death certificates.) What a fun coincidence!

    I collect old holiday postcards from 100 years ago so I can tell you that yes, they often did put the time of day–or night–on the post mark. I’ve even got a couple of postcards postmarked as late as 11 p.m. Also, sometimes people omitted the street address, just putting the recipient’s name, town and state.

    I wonder if your postcard had no message because it was intended to be put in the family photo album. After all, the family would know who it was. And a lot of people didn’t have much formal schooling back then so written correspondence was kept simple and brief, as far as I can tell from the postcards I have.

    Hope this helps.

    Kylie

    • Hey Kylie! Thanks for stopping by! Oh my – isn’t genealogy addictive? To think I used to totally disdain it!

      Thanks so much for your input on the postcard – I just find it fascinating! I’m sure I have more old postcards around here somewhere. I just need to find the time to go through all of them and determine what is from whom and all of that sort of thing. I gotta say – I’m loving the whole Google the old address thing – what an amazing thing to be able to get a photo of a house that your relative lived in 100 years ago – you know?!

      So glad you found me! 🙂

      • Thanks for being so welcoming, Dina. There’s something about seeing where someone lived that’s just so satisfying, isn’t there? I’ve Googled all the addresses of my ancestors that I could find. Seeing their houses makes me remember them better if I knew them and makes them seem more real to me if I didn’t.

        If you have a digital camera, you might want to take screen shots of the houses you find on Google Maps. My cousin told me my aunt’s house was sold and the new owners tore it down and built a MacMansion on the lot. Luckily, I had taken a screenshot of her house, so when Google updates its satellite imagery and shows only the new house, I’ll still have my pic of her house. Also, it’d be useful to have a recent photo of your ancestor’s house to compare with any old photos you find.

        And have you used the Zillow real estate website? I like how you can see most houses not only in aerial shots but at street level and “bird’s eye view”. I got a much better idea of what my great-grandmother’s house looked like from Zillow than I did from Google Maps. And it often tells when a house was built, which is helpful.

        You see, you’re not the only nosy one!

        Kylie

Leave a Reply

