Someone…

…is laying MONGO HUGE-O eggs.

See?

Three of those eggs are in excess of 3 ounces each.

Typically, eggs around here weigh in at about 2.5 ounces. Decent sized.

Here’s a handy reference:

Modern Sizes (USA)

Size

Mass per egg

Cooking Yield (Volume

Jumbo

Greater than 2.5 oz. or 71 g

 

Very Large or Extra-Large (XL)

Greater than 2.25 oz. or 64 g

56 mL (4 tbsp)

Large (L)

Greater than 2 oz. or 57 g

46 mL (3.25 tbsp)

Medium (M)

Greater than 1.75 oz. or 50 g

43 mL (3 tbsp)

Small (S)

Greater than 1.5 oz. or 43 g

 

Peewee

Greater than 1.25 oz. or 35 g

 

 

Or…

US egg sizes are defined by the weight of a dozen eggs. (Not individual eggs.  An egg in a carton of Extra Large eggs need not weigh at least 27/12 ounces, but the dozen must weigh at least 27 ounces.)

Size

Weight of a dozen eggs

Jumbo

30 ounces

Extra Large

27 ounces

Large

24 ounces

Medium

21 ounces

Small

18 ounces

Peewee

15 ounces

 

So – in short – those are MONGO HUGE-O eggs someone is laying!

All I can think is: OUCH!

And which breed is it laying those monster eggs?

Investigative reporting to ensue!

I’ll report back when I know more.

4 thoughts on “Someone…

  1. Dina, I love getting your posts by email! This post really made my day, lol! All I can think is ouch, is right, lol!! I know what you mean, I’ve had a couple that large as well and when I hear the girls in the morning, it makes me laugh 😉

  2. WOW! The more I read your posts, the more I want some chickies for ourselves. Our kids love eggs for breakfast – and those big ones would sure go a long way :)! Some day we’ll have a place we can put chickens…

Leave a Reply

