Home again!

One has only to spend 17 days in the hospital (two stays) over the course of a month (first admission 7/23/09 – second discharge 8/23/09) to really come to appreciate one simple fact:

Home is precious.

I’m so glad to be home.

I’m about a weak as a kitten, but I truly feel the beginnings of well. I haven’t been there for a while.

I have a lot of work ahead of me- remembering to eat (even though I don’t have much of an appetite), remembering to rest (probably the hardest thing), resigning myself to doing what I CAN, not what I feel I OUGHT to do. Can put a kink in a girl’s preconceived ideas of doing stuff!

And just in case you didn’t know.

I adore my husband.


(John holding William – Oregon Coast, 1997. William was just 6 months old.)

He’s so kind. Patient. Loving. Compassionate. Conscientious. You know – one of those guys who do the right thing – even when it’s not the easy thing to do. A guy who has the character of God deeply ingrained in his heart. His smile and laugh just make my heart glad. I’m just so thankful to God for the great honor of being John’s wife. Something I truly do not deserve. But God…

So – guess what I did when I got home from the hospital yesterday afternoon! (Okay, after I checked email.) I grabbed the camera, headed out to the yard, found a place to plant myself, and I took a few pictures.

Stuff happens when you’re away from home!

The babies stopped looking like babies and look more kinda like awkward teenagers now! At first we thought we had one Dominique and one Silver Laced Wyandotte. Now we don’t know. I’m hoping they are two different breeds – cause one of these might be a roo if not!

Note the differences:

Birdhouse gourds galore have grown!

And so exciting!

Someone has started to lay the cutest little white eggs!

They weigh in right at 1 ounce each.

Kinda piddly compared to BB’s 3 oz eggs!

Here’s my guess as to WHO the layer of said adorable eggs is:

One of the Blue Andalusians. Isn’t she pretty?

So – it’s good to be home.

Happy sigh.

I refuse to think about the fact that it’s only two short weeks before my kids head back to school again. I am SO not ready for that yet. Jessica comes home from camp tomorrow late afternoon – after a summer away. She will be a senior in High School this year. I want every moment with her possible.

Off I go to rest.

10 thoughts on “Home again!

  1. so glad you are home and feeling “better” – HOME makes it so, doesn’t it?
    I love that the first thing you take pics of are the chickens and their eggs.
    Bet you missed them, huh?

    Take care of YOU!
    ~Mad

    • Thanks Mad! I did miss the girls. Just sitting and watching them is therapeutic. And the fresh air and sunshine…. ahhhh…

      🙂

      Hugs!

  2. I am so glad you are home!

    Hailey started school yesterday. She is a grown up 4th grader this year. She wanted to hold my hand to class, and then she saw her friends and off she went. *Sigh* She probably won’t even want me to walk her to class soon. Parenting is so bittersweet!

    Love you, don’t forget to REST.

    • Hey sweetheart!

      I can’t believe Hailey is a 4th grader! Lord have mercy! Jessica was just a 4th grader the other day! Now she’s starting her senior year of high school on the 8th! AGGGHHH!

      Love you lots! Trying to rest! 🙂

  3. Welcome home! Glad you felt well enough to update us with some great pictures!
    And….if I had to place my bet…I’d wager that the silver-laced chicken on the right is a roo. That one looks just like my Roopert did when he started to grow those impressive looking, deep red wattles he’s got now.

    • Thanks Danni!

      Can you believe it – the day after this picture a racoon came through – in the middle of the day! – and ate the little roo. Sigh. I tell you – chicken keeping is not for the weak of heart!

    • Thanks Jules! Seriously – the whole rest thing goes very counter to the whole Mom thing – you know?! I’m trying tho! 🙂

    • Thanks Jan!

      Yes – I think you’re right. With each passing day we’re seeing more and more of the Silver Laced Wyandotte patterning coming out. Unfortunately, a racoon came through the yard late Tuesday afternoon and got our little roo. So now we’re down to just one baby SLW. 😦 So sad! I appreciate your input, tho! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

