Totally True!

I have a thing for doors.

Not just any door.

It’s gotta be cool.

Ask me to define that. Hmmm…. Um, well, you know! Cool!

Shall I show you?


That’s a cool door. The Cathedral in Old Altea, Spain. It’s kinda understated on the outside. I wish I had pictures to show you of the interior – they’re on my desktop at home, not the laptop, here at the hospital. But, suffice it to say, you walk in, you make it past the foyer – and then your breath just sucks in, tears fill your eyes, and you wonder, “Is this what heaven will look like?” Literally breathtaking. I love this door – what you see on the outside tells you nothing about the inside. The average visitor to Old Altea isn’t there during the hours when it’s possible to enter the Cathedral. They snap pictures of the exterior and quickly move on. The patient ones wait around a while, “donate” a couple of Euros to the little old lady in the foyer who blatantly promotes her son’s restaurant with fliers – J, and then – unsuspectingly, step around the divider wall and gasp. The beauty is nearly blinding.

I know people like that.

Average on the exterior, blindingly beautiful on the interior.

Here, I’ve got a few – let me show you.

I love this one.

My very good friend, Dr. Aniceto Baltasar, has given me this lecture more than once; I feel the need to share! J THIS is a castle. Castles are places of defense. Palaces are what Cinderella lived in. Got it? This is a castle that was just by chance glanced at the top of a hill, and so it was pursued, and I eventually got out of the car, hiked up a bit of a hill, and came face to face with three towers in a cluster – this one I actually went in. If this post weren’t all about doors, I’d show you the amazing pictures of the interior, etc. But it is all about doors – and I need to tell you – this doorway speaks to me. First – this tower dates back to the Crusades. Yes THE Crusades. This doorway (I’m sure the door was wooden back in the day and has long since rotted away.) was built to withstand attack – sheltering the innocents within. When alarms were sounded to villagers, farmers, and peasants – they would grab the babies, a few food stores, and then would literally run for their lives to the castle for protection. Some doors are gateways to protection and sustained life. I find great beauty here.

Can you see that door? It’s pretty much right in the center of the picture. This is in Salt, Spain – right outside of Alcoy. This is my house. The one I’ve adopted in my heart. I’m pretty sure it’s meant to be mine some day. I know the picture is a little bit obscure – I wish I had a better picture to show you – I’ve got lots, because I visit my house every time I’m in Alcoy. J But the stained glass around that door speaks joy to me. Someone took great delight in crafting a beautiful doorway for this home. Lovely.

I know – this is supposed to be door-oriented – but I just GOTTA show you the view from that door:


(Those are almond orchards there in the foreground. Olive orchards on the terraces behind.)

I think it’s really interesting how different areas have different door “attitudes.” And era of door origin plays a lot into overall feeling, too, of course. These doors are from Madrid. They’re a little bit high fallutin.

Pretty, right? But a little bit deceiving… Here’s what you find when you enter – this is a door that leads to a door! A BIG door.

What’s not to love about this door?

That’s a TALL door.

This is an IMPRESSIVE door.

This is a very OLD door.

It’s the entry way to what is still an active religious order. The building has been a palace, a convent, and a prison over the course of hundreds of years.

Do these doors keep in? Or keep out? And why?

A beautiful door:

Here’s a plaque that goes to a door you wouldn’t have wanted to go through way back when:


It says: “En este inmueble tuverion su sede el consejo supremo y tribunal de la inquisicion desde la decada de 1780 hasta su extincion en 1820.” (Please keep in mind that I don’t speak, read, or write Spanish!) Which our handy dandy iGoogle translator says means: “Tuverion That building houses the Supreme Court of the Inquisition and the decade from 1780 until its extinction in 1820.” Yeah, whatever, you get the idea – this is where the Inquisition guys got together and bad stuff went down!

And a door that needs guarded.


The Royal Palace, Madrid, Spain – we just happened upon the changing of the guard. Most days – you don’t see the fancy guards and the doors aren’t guarded quite this heavily. But on days when a member of the royal family is holding meetings or an event is being held at the Royal Palace, then all of the pomp and circumstance get unfurled and security gets tight.

I guess the reason I have such a thing for doors – regardless of where they’re found – is that you can go along for ages and see mundane door after mundane door – and then, all of a sudden, you run into something like this:


Sanitorio San Jorge, Alcoy, Spain

Doors are so about real life. Each one is a decision to make, a path to be chosen, an opportunity.

So you should know – if ever you and I are walking down the street somewhere and I should happen to spy a cool door – there’s a very real chance you’ll find I’ve stopped in my tracks, started digging in my purse for my camera, and have taken some time to just stare at beauty.

13 thoughts on “Totally True!

  1. Beautiful doors! I, too, have a “thing” for doors (or *opportunities*, as I also think of them). I have framed photos around my house of the various doors I have photographed. Many of my favorites are from small European towns…. Where style – and thought, actually – is so different from the very American place I live.

    • Hey Danni!

      That’s such a cool idea – the frame photos of doors! I’ll bet they’re stunning!

      I have a friend who just moved to Europe. Some of her recent photos have been of the beautiful doors around her town. People there apparently hand them down from generation to generation – a treaure to be cherished. How cool is that?

      And yes – very different from here! I think if we ever build the house of our dreams a very cool door will have to be factored in! 🙂

      Hey – did you want to read Goat Song next?

      • Hi Dina…how are you feeling?? Are you back home yet? I’ve been sending you lots of “get well quick” wishes and thoughts – did you get them? 🙂
        The Goat Song…I hadn’t heard of this until you mentioned it and I did a quick Amazon.com query. Sounds fascinating. Did you enjoy it?
        I’ll query at the Wash Co. library and see if I can put a hold on a copy – it’s getting pretty good reviews.

      • Hey Danni,

        Feeling better, still in the hospital, but there’s a rumor I get to go home tomorrow. Keep those thoughts and wishes coming,girlfriend! 🙂 And THANK YOU!

        Oh – I thought you saw – I won “The Goat Song” from Wendy on her blog – sorry – don’t have my feeds right here, can’t remember the name of fher blog. I thought it would be fun to keep it circulaing. I’d be happy to pop it in the mail to you, if you’re interested.

        It’s a good chronicle of this couple’s foray into goats. It’s actually pretty fascinating – and I’m just shy of finishing it. Since I’ve had anesthesia TWICE this week, I’m not reading the printed page so quickly right now! LOL! I should have it done within a couple of days of being home, though.

  2. Those doors were amazing. I never really thought about them like this before! Thanks for opening up a new thought to me. I am going to be on the lookout now.
    Does it seem to you the older the door, the more beautiful it is?

    • Jules – some of the most amazing doors I’ve seen have been quite ancient. I think folks way back when got it a little more about doors, you know? One of my observations of the rural old doors is that they seem to be more about craftsmanship and expression. The urban newer doors just seem to be more about keeping up with the Joneses – at least as I’ve observed some in Spain. There are some pretty fancy newer ones – but – welll, they doon’t have the character that the older ones do!

    • Thank Farmchick! I honestly think my thing for doors is why I started carrying a camera with me all the time! Isn’t that quirky?! LOL!

  3. Oh yeah yeah yeah…that’s right. I knew you’d won a book from Wendy, but I didn’t connect the name of the book with that. Talk about being out of it…and I haven’t even had any anethesia!!
    Jeez…I’m really hoping when you get out tomorrow, you STAY out. No more health trubbles for you. I say so!
    Ok, cool. Let’s keep that book circulating. That’s a really fun idea. I’ll send you my address via email.

    🙂

    • You may not have had anesthesia – but I’d say an on par rival is a good case of jet lag in the recent past! I think you may even have still been on your trip when I won!

      Totally with you on the staying out thing! It really looks like the procedure I had done on Thursday has done the trick and wellness is on the way. (Please, dear Lord!)

      Awesome – we should all write in the cover of the book where the book has been, and our blog addresses – wouldn’t that be fun?

  4. Great post! I, also, am always struck by beautiful doors. I usually like them old. Around here, people tend to have plain ol’ hardware store doors. I have a neat old one that came with my old farmhouse. My husband wants to remove it and I won’t let him. 🙂 It’s got a neat handle on it and everything. I should have taken more door pictures when I was in Europe. I have one that I love of a door, or doorway rather, at the Chateau d’If. It’s very ancient silent and dark and foreboding like a remembrance of things that happened there…

    • Thanks for coming by! And I absolutely LOVE old farmhouse doors. The hardware and glass in them are so COOL! Good for you for holding out on the door – we gotta do our part in preserving them! LOL!

      Your husband is a pastor – right? When I met my husband he was pastoring a small C&MA church in Rural SE Kentucky. It was a big adjustment living in rural SE KY having come from what I thought was small town Portland, OR! LOL! Keeping you in my prayers, girlfriend! Blessings and responsibilities every where you turn, huh?!

  5. I’d say you have a serious ‘door fetish’, my friend! lol! I like doors, too. The bigger and more rustic the better. Santa Fe has gorgeous old wood doors, some that are curved, like a palladium at the top. And of course, many folks in New Mexico have walled courtyards with another beautiful door to let you in (or keep you out. lol!).

    I’m glad the procedure went well and you are on the mend and well enough to come home now. I also want you to know I always enjoy your comments you leave on my blog each week. I’m sorry I don’t get by more often. You really know how to brighten someone’s day and I thank you for that, my friend 🙂

    ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

