Yellow Angel Food Cake

…and it’s Fight Back Friday!

I am the fortunate recipient of my Great-Grandmother’s recipes. I wish they were organized. I wish I knew where they all were. Man, I wish that.

Her name was Lora Opal Gatton, she was born March 15, 1889 in Fayetteville, Arkansas. She married my great-grandfather Carl Leslie White on April 10, 1910 in Verona, Missouri.

And she was a GREAT cook. In fact, she was a professional cook. My great-grandfather was a dairyman and farmer.

They were famous for the meals at their home – after they moved to California in the 1930’s – often shared out of doors, by lantern light, in the garden. I remember Grammy (their daughter-in-law, my maternal Grandmother) telling me that famous people sometimes shared the dinner table in their home – and all were treated alike – just like family.

I wish I’d known her. She died a couple of months before my Mom turned 16. Mom talked of her often – very fondly – and mentioned more than once how much Laura and I would have hit it off.

One day, not too long ago, as I was going through some old boxes that I’d stashed into storage, I ran across this recipe for Yellow Angel Food Cake. It has – in my Mom’s flawless script – GG’s recipe notated on the corner. That means it came from Laura, my great-grandmother.

Cool!

But I gotta tell you. This cake goes against EVERYTHING I learned in baking school about angel food cakes. But you know what? It works. And it’s fabulous.

Go ahead – give it a whirl. I know – not as much detail as we are used to – but this is exactly as she wrote it.

Yellow Angel Food Cake

Ingredients
11 Egg whites
9 Egg yolks
1 1/4 cups Granulated sugar
1 cup Cake flour
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1 tablespoon Cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon Orange extract
1/4 teaspoon Lemon extract 
1/4 teaspoon Almond extract 
1/4 teaspoon Vanilla extract 

Preheat oven to 275° F.

  1. Beat egg whites and salt until foamy, then add cream of tartar and continue beating until stiff peaks form, but not until dry.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat the egg yolks until light and fluffy.
  3. Fold in sugar, then flavorings.
  4. Fold in the flour first, and then the well-beaten egg yolks.
  5. Pour batter into an ungreased angel food cake pan. Bake at 275°
  6. When the cake is done, cool by allowing to stand in inverted pan until thoroughly cold. Remove from pan and enjoy!

Notes:

A delightful dessert may be made by carefully cutting out the center of the cake leaving the bottom, sides, and tube intact. This leaves a trough of the cake to be filled as follows:

1/2 pint whipped cream, whipped

1 cup canned apricot pulp, carefully drained

Break all the removed sections of the cake into small pieces. Combine the cake pieces and apricot pulp and add sugar if desired, frost with whipped cream. Allow to stand in the refrigerator until well chilled.

*This is one of my Great-Grandmother’s recipes. The notation above was in her penmanship.

12 thoughts on “Yellow Angel Food Cake

  1. I love this idea – Yellow angel food cake. It must be from the addition of egg yolks. You are so fortunate to be able to have recipes from 4 generations back. What a treat! My grandma still talks fondly about her mother’s chocolate cake recipe, but sadly I don’t think it was ever written down.
    Thanks for posting this, sounds delicious!

    • I know – cool, huh? In the “olden days” what would they have done with all of those extra yolks and no refrigeration – at least nothing close to what we have today – certainly not wasted them! When you think it through a little it makes sense, huh?

      One of the things we’ve learned since raising our own chickens and eggs is that the color of the yolk is dramatically brighter and more vibrant than in store-bought eggs – so it definitely is a very yellow cake!

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Jen! 🙂

    • Emily – seriously – isn’t it fabulous? I’m allergic to egg whites, so having traditional angel food cake – well, at least what I grew up thinking of as traditional angel food cake – has been problematic at best. This one, though? I can totally eat! Hooray!

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. How wonderful!! Neither of my grandmothers cooked and, as far as I know, none of my great grandmothers’ recipes have survived. I’ll make this one and think of your great grandmother and how women in that generation could really reallly cook!

    • That would be a wonderful tribute, Green Bean – thank you!

      Wouldn’t it have been cool to have been at our great-grandmothers’ elbows – learning all of this amazing stuff? I – for one – would have loved it! 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. What a treasure to have such a recipe. It sounds excellent. You left a comment about your realtionship with Kentucky and wanting to know what mine was. Well, I was born in the small town that I now live in. After I was born my father joined the Air Force and I spent my childhood/teenage years traveling. My husband (who is from this small town) and I decided to move back here 11 years ago to raise children and slow down our lives a bit. We live on 25 acres in central Kentucky…about 90 miles south of Louisville.

    • Hey Farmchick!

      Cool! We used to be in Clay County – about 110 miles SE of Lexington. We met so many wonderful people there – who are still dear, dear friends. My – what a beautiful part of the country!

      We keep hoping to find our corner of the world with a few acres and a slower pace of life, too. What a blessing to have landed in such a wonderful place! 🙂

  4. Pingback: In the olden days… « Known By Name

  5. Pingback: Squash Pie « Known By Name

  6. Pingback: Eggstraordinary! « Known By Name

  7. Pingback: Fight Back Fridays August 7th | Food Renegade

Leave a Reply

