Cucumber and Green Onion Salad

…and it’s Fight Back Friday! Hooray! (I’m so glad to be home!)

I got hooked on this salad a number of years ago.

Before I finally figured out how to consistently grow my own cucumbers.

Oh my – what a difference using cucumbers fresh off the vine makes! Yummy!

But anyway… fell in love with it, tweaked the recipe a bit. It’s not any huge secret how to make a simple sweet and sour marinade – but this one is just so good with the rice wine vinegar (I prefer the seasoned, myself).

It’s easy.

It’s yummy.

When it’s 107° F outside and you have some cold in the fridge, your family will love you FOREVER!

Here you go – as easy as can be!

Cucumber and Green Onion Salad

Ingredients

2 cups

Cucumbers, peeled, thinly sliced

2 teaspoons

Kosher salt

2 teaspoons

Sugar

1/4 cup

Green onions, thinly sliced

1/4 cup

Rice wine vinegar

 

  1. In a bowl, sprinkle the thinly sliced cucumbers with salt. Let stand for about 20 minutes, then drain.
  2. In the same bowl, mix the cucumbers, green onions, sugar, and rice wine vinegar. Stir thoroughly.
  3. Ready to serve!

Notes:

This may be served at room temperature or refrigerated. I personally love it best when it’s been refrigerated.

And… in the interest of full disclosure – I NEVER measure the cucumber and the green onions. I go out to the garden, find what I can find, then come back and make some up. If I need to make a little extra marinade, then so be it!

If I’m really feeling impatient, then I don’t do step one above – I just peel and slice the cumbers, throw everything in, give it a good stir – and start chowing down!

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Cucumber and Green Onion Salad

  1. Mmmm…cucumber salad…. 🙂
    Toasted sesame seeds on top add a delightful taste to this salad!
    My husband hates onions of all kinds (woe is me), so green onions rarely see the inside of my kitchen. 😦

    • Danni – that’s so hard! No onions?! I’d DIE! I’m seriously onion queen. Although I’m picky. I love Vidalia’s, Walla Wallas, Spanish sweet onions…. Others, too, of course, but wow – I can’t imagine not having them in nearly every dish I cook!

      You know… my grandfather was allergic to onions. My uncle (his son) is, too. My son is starting to show signs of it as well. I wonder if your husband’s hate isn’t a tip of the hand toward an allergy of some sort?!

    • Oh – you’re right. Well, to be honest – I just eat them. 🙂

      And if I’m really hungry – I just skip that first waiting part and go forward. That’s why I usually throw in lots of extra cucumber and add marinade as needed. They’re just too good to not eat!

      *smootch*

    • Hey Michael! Thanks for the link to your cucumber salad – sounds fabulous! I’ll definitely give it a whirl!

      Thanks for stopping by – 🙂

Leave a Reply

