It’s the Pits!

When I weighed this much:

There was something that I didn’t know. A burden that skinny – or, well, just normal sized – girls must bear, that super, super morbidly obese women – like me – had no clue about! (Or maybe I was the only one…)

When I was heavy, shaving my pits was no big deal. Kinda like a flat surface that took seconds to shave, and voila! All done! Woo Hoo! Granted, shaving legs wasn’t so easy. Ugh!

Now that I weigh this much – that’s me in the middle:

I have a question I’ve got to ask.

HOW THE HECK DO YOU SHAVE YOUR PITS WHEN THEY’RE ACTUALLY – WELL – PITS!?

Even 50 pounds ago – about the weight I was before my revision in November – shaving my pits was… less of an issue. Does 50 pounds make that much difference?

Seriously – it’s dangerous! There are actual serious indentations going on there, and I’m using a VERY sharp blade in a VERY delicate location. I mean, who wants a cut in your arm pit?! OUCH!

So – anyone? Anyone? (Fry… Fry… Sorry – I have flashbacks to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off all of the time.) Is there a method that I’m supposed to know about that I don’t? ‘Cause when you’re a fat girl growing up, there ARE things that you don’t get told. Maybe this is one of those things!

Speaking of the revision, by the way… Guess what?! My BMI is 26 now. I’m only overweight now! I weigh 144 lbs. Wow. Kinda weird. Weirder still? My size 12 shorts are too big.

Go figure.

4 thoughts on “It’s the Pits!

  1. Let me just make you jealous!
    With my advancing age of 58, growing leg and pit-hair slows down naturally. But, the task of shaving is still necessary. NOW – with this chemo, I am bald headed, very starkly so, and I have not shaved for – oh let’s see – at least three months. My hair is not expected to return until maybe August or September and then that’s all going to take time to even have a “head of” hair again – my family, friends and I are just so curious about how that is going to work.
    BUT Oh My Gosh! right now it takes nothing to get ready for work in the mornings – THAT I am going to miss. I mean, what can be easier? Throw on some clothes and cover your head with any variety of hats or scarves!!!!!

    Anyway, that’s my input!
    ~Mad(elyn) in Alabama

  2. A good friend of mine who had breast cancer said once that the phase when she was bald was – eventually – liberating. I am constantly in pursuit of the easiest hairstyle possible!

    You know – my mother-in-law didn’t ever have to shave ANYTHING – legs, pits, nothing. What a dream! Wouldn’t that be cool?

  3. I can totally relate!!! Having losted over 250 lbs since my WLS in 1-2004 I also can’t shave my arm pits. I now use a hair removal lotion such as Nair to get rid of the hair since I can’t shave it and I do arthritis aquatics twice a week and everyone in the class can sees my arm pits. Don’t leave it on very long or it will burn the arm pits. I leave it on about half the time suggested. I have no problems shaving my legs with a razor.

    • Joanne,

      Oh my word! I hadn’t even considered something like Nair! You’re brilliant! What a great idea!

      Isn’t it amazing how much easier it is to shave the legs? I actually sit on the bath bench, put my leg on the shower wall, and shave that way. I would NEVER have been able to even conceive being able to do that before losing the weight!

      Great job on the weight loss, girlfriend! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

