The Best Egg Salad Ever!

I'm a RenegadeWhen I was just a kid my Mom used to make amazing egg salad sandwiches. It seriously floated my boat – not so much for my three siblings, however. For ages it seemed like an impossible thing to perfect. I’d kind of peeked over my Mom’s shoulder trying to figure out what the trick was to making it better than average. Finally, one day she said – “It’s the extra egg yolks.” I hadn’t asked – I’d just been snooping – but being Mom – well, she knew!

Now that I’m older with a more defined idea of what I know I like and what I don’t – I’ve made a few what I’ll call “refinements.” The first being – the eggs need to be finely shredded. Not roughly chopped, not coarsely grated – nope! F-I-N-E-L-Y S-H-R-E-D-D-E-D. Not with your food processor. You gotta break out the box grated for this one folks. If you don’t have a box grater – get up right this minute, head straight for the store and buy one – a good one! It’s a MUST have! Next – green onions. They gotta be in there. They gotta be very thinly sliced. They gotta be fresh. Fresh in from the garden is – OF COURSE – best. And I really feel that lots of celery is a must – and it’s important that it be finely diced. And finally – the mayo. Yes, of course, you could just throw in the GMO, preservative-laden, chemically tasting store-bought stuff. It would work. But – well, I dare you – give the home made mayo a go – see what you think. I think you’ll like it.

If I were to be really a stickler I’d tell you to go get your own chickens to lay you some fresh eggs every day so that having this yummy kind of stuff around all of the time is a no-brainer. But I’ll cut you a little slack today, okay?

The Best Egg Salad Ever!

Ingredients
8 Eggs, hard boiled and peeled
1/3 cup Dill pickle relish
3 Green onions, sliced thinly
4 stalks Celery, diced finely
3/4 cup Mayonnaise (home made is best!)
  Kosher Salt
  Fresh ground black pepper

 

 

  1. Using the finest grating blade on your box grater, grate 6 of the hard boiled eggs. With the remaining two eggs, separate the white from the yolk, and grate in just the yolks. (I give my chickens the excess hardboiled egg whites – they love it!)
  2. In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine the dill pickle relish, green onions, celery and about half of the mayonnaise with the finely grated hardboiled egg. Mix thoroughly.
  3. Add additional mayonnaise as needed until desired consistency is reached.
  4. Season with just a dash of kosher salt and a small amount of fresh ground black pepper.
  5. Chill and serve!

Notes:

RE: Hard Boiled Eggs

Have you figured out yet that hard boiling fresh eggs is a total pain in the neck? I keep a flat of eggs in the fridge that I let get a little bit older just for hard boiling. Also, throwing the salt in the water when you boil the eggs will help with peeling, as well. I find that the fresh home grown eggs also cook a bit faster, so I thought I’d give a quick rundown on how I cook them. Get a pan big enough for your eggs. Put cold water in – enough so that your eggs are completely covered. Throw some salt in that water – sorry, I don’t measure, I just throw some in. I’ll also add that my favorite salt for salted cooking water is the coarse crystal sea salt – it’s just better. Now, bring your eggs to a full boil. When they are at a full boil turn the heat off and cover them with the lid to the pot. Turn the timer on for 10 minutes. Don’t wander away. Don’t get involved in stuff that will get you distracted. Stay close enough to hear the timer. When the timer goes off, drain the water off of the eggs. I bounce the eggs in the pan a bit so that they’ll crack some. Then I cover them in ice and let them sit until the ice is mostly melted. It takes about 10 minutes. NOW they peel like a dream! Ta da!

RE: Home Made Mayonnaise. You can find an easy, straight-forward recipe to make your own mayonnaise here. Warning: You may never go back to the store-bought type!

5 thoughts on “The Best Egg Salad Ever!

  1. We make egg salad several times a week. I’m always experimenting with it though. One time I’ll use sour cream instead of mayo, another time I’ll add green onions, another time I add nothing but salt & pepper.

    I’m looking forward to trying your combination out.

    Thanks for sharing this in today’s Fight Back Fridays carnival.

    Cheers,
    KristenM
    (AKA FoodRenegade)

    • Hi Kristen! Thanks for stopping by!

      I love the Fight Back Fridays carnival – great idea! Thanks for getting that in motion.

      Isn’t egg salad just the best? I especially love it with the Salt & Pepper Kettle chips – oh my goodness! You know, I think I’m going to have to go make a batch up!

  2. Pingback: Eggstraordinary! « Known By Name

Leave a Reply

