Fracture Risk Following Bariatric Surgery

Fracture Risk Following Bariatric Surgery

Shared via AddThis

See also the MayoClinic.com article here.

If you’re a bariatric pre- or post-op and you’ve ever had occasion to hear me rant talk about post-ops and their need to take their supplements, then chances are pretty good you’ve heard my tirade lecture about calcium, Vitamin D, getting the correct form of Vitamin D (that’s D3 to you and me, folks!), magnesium, proper hydration so that our altered guts can absorb the good stuff, etc.

These articles say fairly well, “TOLD YOU SO!”  (I know, it’s not gracious to say that, but I just can’t help it!)

PEOPLE!  If you are a bariatric post-op with any malabsorption, then you gotta take this sort of thing seriously!  That means YOU if you’re a DS post-op, a gastric bypass post-op, a BPD post-op, a hybrid conversion from RNY to psudo-DS, variations thereof, and for the few remaining JIB post-ops out there.

I’ll say it right here, right now as clearly as I can:  I love you people!  If nothing else for the shared history that we have separately – yet jointly – experienced in our lives as morbidly obese individuals.  We’ve been through so much together – pretty much for the most part at totally incongruent points on the timeline – but together nonetheless.

BUT (you knew that was coming, huh?)….

I DON’T STINKING CARE IF YOU THINK YOU FEEL GOOD!  THAT IS NO EXCUSE TO NOT TAKE YOUR SUPPLEMENTS!

Please!  Take this stuff seriously.  If I have another conversation with another six or seven or eight year post-op in the next day or two who tells me they haven’t taken a single supplement for YEARS and they felt fine for ages – until just recently, when they feel like they’re a puddle of mush on the floor – I’ll go screaming into the night!

Baby post-ops – I beg you! – learn from your elders!  DO NOT do the stupid stuff they have done!  Pay attention to your food choices – choose wisely!  (I’m not asking you to be a food saint, though!)  Take your supplements – EVERY SINGLE DAY!  Get your labs done – consistently, without fail!  Have someone who understands post-op labs read them and help you figure out how you need to tweak your supplements appropriately.  Please!

I think I can say pretty confidently that most of us chose bariatrics as a means to save our lives.  Yeah, there was the additional benefit of losing more than just a few pounds.  But so many of us – I sure was – were dying before our WLS.  I could go through the whole sordid story with you – but suffice it to say you can read all about it here.  Why save our lives, why get healthy – if just to shoot yourself in the foot?

So – okay, I’m going to make a promise to you here – and now.  I’m going to start building a DS post-op resources page here on the blog.  It will come in baby steps, and if you subscribe to the RSS feed here on the site you should get notified whenever the blog gets updated.  It’s great if you’re reading posts in Outlook, it creates a nice, neat little folder for you in your RSS feeds category, and neatly delivers your new post to your folder.  What could be easier?

So – to recap:

  1. Take your calcium.  If you’re a malabsorber, the baseline according to the ASBMS standards is 1800 to 2400 mgs daily.  If you’re a DS’er, that means the 2400 mgs daily.  If you’re a bariatric post-op, that means citrate, not carbonate.  Yes, it makes a difference.
  2. Take your calcium in no more than 500 to 600 mg increments at a time.  Yes, that means you gotta spread it out over the course of the day.
  3. Take your Vitamin D3.  It’s gotta be dry!  Bio-Tech is the best product out there.  If you don’t know how much you need to take, then leave me a comment, we can talk.  We’ll see what your levels are on your labs, and give you a place to start, okay?
  4. Make sure you are getting in enough magnesium.
  5. Get your labs done regularly.  That’s every 3 months for the first 2 years; every 6 months for the next 2 years; and then if everything is hunkey dorey, then annually – FOR LIFE.
  6. Make sure someone who understands your labs – the fact that you are a bariatric post-op with malabsorption – is reading them and helping you interpret what they mean if you don’t know how to do it yourself.  Raise your right hand and swear on a stack of Bibles on this one for me, okay?

So that’s it!  My rant loving, concerned, heart-felt special share for the day!  I’ll get to work on that DS resources page – right away – I promise!

Leave a Reply

