Surgery tomorrow…

Yes, again.
This time – left ankle reconstruction. You see there’s this necrotic bone – kinda like your bone getting a cavity, and they’ve gotta take the bad part out, and then fill it… Then there’s the whole alignment thing – nothing aligns the way it’s supposed to… Then there’s the fix the ligament thing… And the possible add a tendon thing… And the release some of the muscle (?) from the back of my calf thing….

I typically can tell you in very exacting medical language exactly what an upcoming surgery will entail and give fairly detailed specifics. Not so much this time!

Dang, this complex orthopedics stuff is a little hard to keep straight.

But these things I do know:

1. I’ve got a 10:30 am surgery time.

2. I’ll probably be in the hospital 2 or 3 days.

3. I may or may not be on low molecular weight heparin injections following surgery.

4. I will be non-weight bearing for 4 to 6 weeks.

5. I’ll be in a cast for 6 to 8 weeks.

My surgeon has prescribed a knee scooter for me for after surgery. Initially I’ll use a regular walker – but get a gander at the knee scooter – it’s kinda trippy:

I think it’ll work out well – and will definitely make the whole non-weight bearing thing more livable.

So – here in the last few minutes before midnight I’m getting caught up on my to-do list, sipping lots of iced green tea, and trying to remember if there’s anything else I ought to pack in my bag for the hospital.
I gotta be honest – getting my head around this surgery has been pretty wierd. Every other surgery I’ve ever had has always included, “And of course, we’ll want you up and walking as soon as possible.” Not with this one. It’s gonna be wierd.
I’m determined to be a good patient, though – and will try really hard to follow the rules. My surgeon says if I’m good, then he might let me drive after 2 weeks. I’m gonna be good!
So… time for me to get some sleep! I’ve got a busy day ahead of me tomorrow!
2 thoughts on “Surgery tomorrow…

  1. Pingback: As the stomach turns… Part 1 « Living the DS Life

  2. Pingback: Signs of hope… « Known By Name

Leave a Reply

