Tree Huggers!

I’ve lived in Oregon since I was 4 years old. When I was a kid I tried to laugh and understand when people would joke, “Oregonians don’t tan – they rust!” I mean, huh? Doesn’t everyone get rain? Lots and lots of rain?

I can admit that as I’ve grown older that the rain has begun to – well, wear on me a bit. Usually some time around February John and I look at each other and say, “We live here because????” I’m sure his memories of living in Arizona right at the forefront of his thoughts! Me – just *longing* for sunshine and warmth! We vowed several years ago – should we ever manage to scrape up enough money – we really ought to travel someplace warm come every February!

A relatively new friend asked me – after having relocated here from the Rocky Mountain region of the country, “So when does it rain?” You see, we met when it was sunny and warm and beautiful out. Without half a thought I said, “From October to July 5th.” She looked at me and laughed and said, “No really!” To which I said, “Seriously.”

This February I’ve been amazingly content. I haven’t felt that squirmy feeling like I gotta get out of Dodge! I haven’t been spending time looking vainly at travel bargains to the tropics.

I found out why last night. On the news they said, “And as you know,” obviously I didn’t! “we’re 2.5 inches behind on rainfall for the month of February – so th rain we’ll be getting this week will be really helpful!”

They’re saying we’re gonna get 1/2 an inch of rain today, tomorrow, and the next day.

Now I’m feeling squirmy! LOL!

BUT – we must ask the girls how they feel about the rain – cause it’s been raining buckets this morning.

Apparently they aren’t much amused, either! See them down there? Hugging that big old Willow tree? Trying to get out of the rain?

I wish I could get a picture of what it looks like when they don’t know that I’m there – all 14 of them are ringed around that tree – pretty much kissing it! – trying to stay out of the rain.
They’re so goofy!

You’d think they didn’t know there was a nice, dry, full of brand new sweet-smelling pine shavings, coop – just a few feet away. BUT NO – they might miss out of something, so they stay out in the rain.
Thanks girls! I needed the laugh!
2 thoughts on “Tree Huggers!

  1. Mad – you’re so funny. I remember thinking the first time we had some serious rain and the girls were out free ranging, “Are they smart enough to come out of the rain?” For the most part – nah! LOL!

Leave a Reply

