Speedy Update

I’m leaving for Spain in less than 2 weeks.
We’re fortunate to have a willing and kindhearted chicken-watcher all lined up.
However, as you can see from the progression of these photos – Speedy just hasn’t been well – well, since mid-June.

In fact, in the past week she seems to have weakened considerably.

She tends to stay in the coop – granted, it is warmer in there – and shows little interest in much of anything.


The middle girls will huddle around her – almost like they’re trying to keep her warm and protected.

The little girls – the Welsumer’s – are not so nice. In fact, they pick on Speedy quite a bit.

Interestingly enough, the big girls have taken on more of an attitude of watching out for her, as well – especially Henrietta. (Maybe that’s because Henrietta seems to have been bumped out of her spot as queen of the hill and now is just a lowly follower!)

Whatever the case, it occurred to me that it would be a sad – and maybe unkind – thing if – for the caretaker, as well as Speedy – if she were to give up and die while we’re away.

The kids had voiced their concerns about Speedy and wondered if there wasn’t something we could do for it.

That’s when it occurred to John and I that we might know of someone who might “Speedy-sit” while we’re gone.

So on Saturday morning Speedy went to visit at Rancho de Kao – really, pretty much, chicken nirvana. Kao and Tonya are very experienced chicken-keepers who sometimes agree to help out in time of need. They have been so kind as to offer to help our Speedy out.

I should have taken pictures – it was a wonderful experience – and amazing to get to see up close and personal so many different breeds of chicken. They’ve really got a great set-up out there!

I feel so much better knowing that Speedy will get the very best care possible. I wouldn’t be surprised, however, if we got word that she’d not made it. But we won’t give up hope yet – here’s hoping that Speedy is hearty and hale and ready to come home when we get home from Spain!

4 thoughts on “Speedy Update

  1. Poor little Speedy. I hope she recovers well. Do you make very many trips to Spain? My son loves Spain and in fact wants to move there full time at some point. He lived there for two years while he finished up his Masters degree in Spanish translation. He has spent much time in Granada, Madrid, Seville, and Almeria where his girlfriend’s family lives. I have some very good Spanish friends there as well.

  2. Oh, Dina!! I *seriously* can’t believe you didn’t take any pictures when you visited Rancho de Kao! What WERE you thinking??!! lol
    As a faithful reader, I am personally quite disappointed.
    Guess I’ll just have to take a trip out there someday to see for myself, huh? 🙂

    Safe travels to Spain!

  3. Hey Vonda,

    I go to Spain usually 2 or 3 times a year. I never dreamed that would be a part of my reality oh – 10 years ago or so – but it is, and I don’t mind one bit! (Especially the part where I get to hang out at the Beach along the Mediterranean! LOL!)

    OH – I wish I spoke Spanish! This will be my 12th trip – and my level of expertise involves asking for the bill at the end of a meal (which, incidentally, is a very important thing to know how to do!)

    I’ve got to admit – it’s crossed my mind more than once that I’d love to live there, too. It’s beautiful, the way of life so different, and the people so warm and friendly.

    I usually fly in via Madrid, spend the majority of my time down in the Alicante province, and then a few days in Madrid before I fly back. It’s a lovely part of the world.

    I’ll be sure to blog some while I’m there this trip! 🙂

  4. Danni,

    I KNOW! What WAS I thinking?! But it was really cool. I think they’d love to have you come by and visit – they’re so nice and welcoming. My kids had a grand time trying to identify chickens and scoping out the set-up. The converted from play house to coop was definitely all around favorite!

    Thanks for the wish for safe travels – I’ll gladly take them!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

