Our Garden continues to grow…

You get busy with stuff and you turn around and bam! they go and grow up on you! Green beans of course! Can you believe how much they’ve poofed? And there are flowers forming all over the place! Woo Hoo!

Yay! An actual zucchini!

There will be squash for dinner tomorrow night! It is a little unfair, I’m afraid. Jess, my daughter, is away for the week – she’s my squash co-dependent, but in her absence I promise to do my very best to savor every succulent bite! πŸ™‚

I hope this picture shows up okay… It’s a picture of a bumble bee – mid-flight – approaching a German Giant tomato blossom. He was so beautiful – I hoped to get maybe a snatch of a little glimpse of him in a photo – but wow – full-sized it’s quite the photo!

We’ve got a tomato explosion going on! There are green tomatoes everywhere! And they’re beautiful. I’ve got lots of plans for these babies!

Aren’t these the prettiest little pear tomatoes you ever did see?

This is a German Giant heirloom tomato – it’s the most unusual looking little start of a tomato – almost flat. With a name like German Giant you gotta wonder what kinda size this little fella is gonna develop into!You should smell the basil. It’s heavenly. I’m hoping to start making pesto in the next week. I make it up, put it in little freezer-friendly 1-cup containers, and then throw it in the freezer for use throughout the year. Even if I do say so myself, it’s wonderful. What a wonderful thing to thaw it out and be returned to the amazing smell of fresh basil in summer!
The cucumbers are getting bigger!

And John got the next bunch of green beans in. This side is a runner bean called Scarlet – I think they’ll be a great addition to our garden. I honestly can’t remember the name of the beans he planted on the other side, but I promise to try and investigate and report soon!

Here’s a better view of the trellis system that John built a couple of years ago. We’ve used them for cucumbers and peas in the past. It will be interesting to see how it works out for green beans!

They say it’ll rain tomorrow. Today is 22 days without rain. I’m ready for a little rain. It only makes sense, of course, I thorughly watered the garden today! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Our Garden continues to grow…

  1. Dina, your garden is amazing…so much love in there!
    Do you have a special (secret) pesto recipe that you’d like to share? πŸ™‚ My basil that I started from seed turned almost yellow and were on the path to death after I planted them in the garden, but they made a major recovery and I think I WILL have homemade pesto this year! πŸ™‚

  2. Madelyn,

    You’re a riot, girl! Come on over in a couple of weeks and we’ll have some of those green beans after they’ve been in the slow cooker with baby red potatoes with dinner. Yummo!

    Hugs,

    dina

  3. Danni,

    Thanks! I love this time of year. :sigh:

    Yes! I’m actually thinking seriously about throwing some Pesto together tomorrow. I’ll definitely blog about it and show the process, as well as share my tried and true Pesto recipe!

    BTW – totally blown away at your egg yields thus far – how cool is that!? We’re still waiting for a follow-up egg… not very patiently, I might add!

Leave a Reply

