Cucumbers!

Do you see that? just above the flower (and the pink construction tape that I use to tie plants with) – the little itty bitty cucumber?

Woo Hoo!

I admit it – I was worried. There are green tomatoes galore, even some peppers present, squash coming on like gangbusters – but no signs of cucumbers! I worried there weren’t enough pollinators. I worried that the ones that we’d seen weren’t getting their job done.

Okay – I admit it – I worried it would be another dismal result with our attempt to grow cucumbers. I thought, “Great – I’ve gotten cocky, now they’re gonna show me how much I don’t know!”


But – sigh of relief – the pollinators are doing their jobs… See? There’s a lovely bumble bee about his business – bless his little heart!

I honestly believe that the sight of a yellow crookneck squash plant in serious bloom is one of the loveliest sights there is… feast your eyes…


Hard to believe summer is halfway over. The kids go back to school in six short weeks. It feels like the summer isn’t just passing – but evaporating!
We are on serious egg watch here. Henrietta, Hallie, and Millie are now 18 weeks old – RIR’s typically start laying somewhere in the 18 to 22 week mark. So we’re keeping them in the coop/run area for the majority of the day, only letting them out to free range in the late afternoons – in hopes that when the day comes that they decide to join the ranks of laying chickens that they’ll decide to do so IN the nest boxes! Updates to come, of course!

3 thoughts on “Cucumbers!

  1. Good morning! I should be getting dressed for work – ahhhhhhhh, better to read “just one more” blog.
    Beautiful garden, looks like. I commend ya’ll.
    ~Mad

  2. What a beee-yoo-tee-full baby cucumber! I will admire yours frequently, as my plants aren’t anywhere near the cuking stage, unfortunately. But if this nice warm weather keeps up, a girl can still hope, right?
    How exciting that your girls are getting ready to lay…it won’t be long now, Dina…I’ve had over 28 eggs now and just gave my first dozen away on Tuesday and they only started laying 3 wks ago!

Leave a Reply

