Day 15…

Today is the start of the 15th day without HFCS (high fructose corn syrup) – which means, of course – my 15th day without Coke.

I honestly didn’t think I could go this long without it. It hasn’t been as hard as I thought it was going to be. Maybe because it’s not just the Coke I’m getting rid of – but the HFCS. It seemed when I eliminated the whole category it made the Coke thing just a little bit of the bigger picture. Wild!

How do I feel?

Good! I’m amazed that I’m not having to haul out some sort of Amazon-woman iron will to avoid Coke. At restaurants or – well – anywhere, it seems easy to NOT have it. The longer I go, the easier it gets.

I guess I should have known that. But in the past when I’ve tried to just give up Coke this has NOT been my experience – it’s been a battle of gargantuan proportions.

Ramifications?I lost 4 pounds right off the bat. Been staying there. Still at that range where I stayed forever before I had that dip to the low-low.

I’m NOT avoiding sugar. I’m not embracing it, either, though. If I want a cookie – then I bake it instead of buy it, because the bought stuff 99% of the time has HFCS in it. If I want a dessert, I get it – but just make sure there’s no HFCS in it.

Funny thing is – I want far fewer sweets now.

Maybe that’s because I’m not grabbing a Coke as a “meal replacement” now and am actually eating more real food! Go figure! (Duh – I can be so stupid sometimes!)

So… Will I stick with it?Yeah – I definitely will. I decided at the beginning of this whole thing that I wasn’t outlawing Coke – which I’ve had a life-long love affair with – but HFCS, BUT, that if I felt I simply HAD to have a Coke, then I’d have ONE, not one right after another. But you know what? I don’t even want the one. I’m blown away.

So far, so good.

Leave a Reply

